This summer I am going to return to Into Abba's Arms orphanage in Kenya for five weeks. My experience in Africa was life changing, and I feel God tugging on my heart to return. I have dearly missed the children and staff since I left. I am getting SO excited to finally be reunited with Sharon and all of the children I love. I have had countless dreams of the moment where I pull up to the orphanage and run out of the van to joyfully hug Sharon. I can't wait to sing songs with Sharon, help Joyce in the nursery, and play games with the village children on Sundays. I can't wait to laugh at Martha's silly expressions, eat chapati, and see Hope walking for the first time. I can't wait to see Margaret again and hold her hand during the church service on Sundays. The list could go on forever. I am also so excited to watch as my sister and Amanda experience Africa for the first time. I can't wait for them to meet all of the children and staff. All of my pictures, videos, and stories will finally come to life for them. I am getting so anxious to go. I write letters to Sharon and Richard every few weeks and revisit my pictures on a daily basis. I have many new opportunities at Into Abba's Arms this summer, and am excited to see what God has in store, whether that is leading a weekly Bible study with women from the community, helping with construction around the site, or working on taking new portraits of the children for the website and blog.

God has also answered another prayer of mine. Going to Uganda has been my dream ever since I saw the Invisible Children film in the ninth grade. This summer, I will be serving at Hope Care Child Program in Bulanga, Uganda for six weeks with my friend Amanda. At this orphanage, there are 150 kids and around 370 come for school. Grades 1-7 are taught on site. I will be helping teach in the classrooms, caring for the children, and assisting with the daily needs of the staff. In Uganda, I will also have the opportunity to meet and spend a day with the little girl I sponsor through Compassion International. 

I am so blessed to be a part of the family at Into Abba's Arms and am looking forward to becoming a part of Hope Care Child Program's. I love what God is doing in me and what is he doing at Into Abba's Arms - it was amazing to hear stories of God's hand over the orphanage through the years and to experience myself what is happening there. I can't wait to see the work of God again this summer and to see the new challenges, perspectives, environments, people, and culture that I face.


Please pray for me as I prepare and continue to seek God's direction for my summer and future. And please pray God will provide the funds for this trip. I was so amazed and humbled last year at everyone's generosity and support. 



Leave a Reply.